My favorite Al-Qaeda member has been captured!

Probably weird to say “my favorite” but I have a good reason.

In January 2007 the New Yorker published a profile of Adam Gadahn, the Northern California hippie child who ended up joining Al-Qaeda and becoming the group’s official English-language spokesperson. For whatever reason, I thought it was one of the most captivating pieces of journalism I’d ever read and I still remember it vividly.

On the occasion of Gadahn’s capture today in Karachi by American security forces, I urge you to read the New Yorker profile if you haven’t already. I’ll be re-reading it.

Also check out these before and after photos:

1_21_gadahn_adam.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Life Abroad, Terrorism

One response to “My favorite Al-Qaeda member has been captured!

  1. Wudn’t that a John “Jay Lee” Anderson piece? Probably— that and his Liberia one blewwwwwww my mind!

    I was particularly into the Death Metal blogging aspect of Hazam’s past.

Leave a Reply

