Overdue

I’ve been catching some flak from friends and family back in the motherland for slacking on the blog of late. Apparently, people are curious to know what I’m up to. To maximize efficiency, I’ll give you some bullet points:

  • I went to Beirut a few weeks ago. It was clean and expensive. The women are beautiful and people wear nice clothes. The food is pretty good, but I think overrated. There’s not a lot to do, but I saw some great ruins, both modern and ancient. I like Cairo better.
  • I just moved into a new apartment on a fancy island in the middle of the Nile. It’s a really nice flat and I’m near a grocery store now. On the other hand, I may have lost a little Cairo street cred. Lots of foreigners in the neighborhood.
  • I cooked two rabbits a few days ago with a recipe roughly based on this one. When I make braised rabbit again, I’m going to use higher quality apple cider vinegar and maybe some raisins or dried figs. It was pretty dope nonetheless.
  • I still work at a cool newspaper. You should all check its website regularly.
  • It’s Hanukkah and I haven’t celebrated at all. I really like Hanukkah because it is a holiday devoted to celebrating anti-imperialism.
  • I still can’t speak Arabic nearly as well as I would like. I think it might be time to give up.
  • Egypt is still a police state.
  • There was a dust storm yesterday. I feel dirty.
  • Today is Islamic New Years Eve. Who wants to party?

Let me know if you have any questions. I’ll try to blog more regularly about life in Cairo and current events from now on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Abroad

Leave a Reply

