I’m hungry

I know that you are supposed to read the Angry Arab for his flaming anti-Zionist ranting, his passionate hatred of the Saudi monarchy, and general antagonism towards everything else.  I appreciate that stuff.  But I also like stories about food.  And today I via Angry Arab I came across this bibbit from the BBC:

Doner kebabs sold in the UK contain “shocking” levels of salt, fat and calories, a survey has concluded.

Officers from 76 councils sampled 494 kebabs to test their nutritional value, during the Local Authority Coordinators of Regulatory Services (Lacors) study.

The average doner they tested contained almost 1,000 calories – half a woman’s recommended daily intake.

Geoffrey Theobald, of Lacors, said: “The level of saturated fat and salt in some is a serious cause for concern.”

Uh oh!  Who would have ever guessed that doner kabab wasn’t healthy?  Check out this graph:

Should we assume that this holds for shwarma as well?

Photo by Flickr user Smeerch used under Creative Commons license.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “I’m hungry

  1. Thanks for using one of my photo. 😉

Leave a Reply

