What this means

I got my daily spin email from the Obama campaign today and this is what they say last night’s defeat in Pennsylvania mean:

In a state where we trailed by more than 25 points just a couple weeks ago, you helped close the gap to a slimmer margin than most thought possible.

Thanks to your support, with just 9 contests remaining, we’ve won more delegates, more votes, and twice as many contests.

We hold a commanding position, but there are two crucial contests coming up — voters will head to the polls in North Carolina and Indiana in exactly two weeks. And we’re already building our organization in the other remaining states.

You know what I think this means? I think that this means that this is going to drag on for even longer. I am now speaking on behalf of everyone I know when I say PLEASE STOP THIS NOW.

We used to be excited about this election. And now? Now I never want to see Hillary Clinton or Barack Obama again. I have had to watch them fight it about every petty piece of bullshit. (I know that a lot of the time I played along.) I have –very much against my will–grown to hate Hillary Clinton.

And the worst part by far is the possibility that this painfully protracted primary season could somehow give the presidency to John McCain, who will subsequently plunge our great nation into total war against some poorly defined enemy.

The Democrats are running against eight years of George W. Bush. Eight straight years of disaster. If they throw that opportunity away it will be the biggest disgrace in political history.

I don’t care how they do it, but they have to end this now.

Update:  The New York Times agrees with me, using a more respectable vocabulary.

Leave a comment

Filed under American Politics

Leave a Reply

