My brush with minor celebrity and his tall wife

In the tradition of Gawker, I had my own celebrity sighting this weekend. But mine a little weirder than seeing Ben Stiller walking down West Houston. I saw the Prince of Peace himself, Mr. Dennis Kucinich Dennis Kucinich and his wifehanging around a Muslim book store in Cleveland with his tall, young wife.

That’s pretty much the whole story, actually. I was in Cleveland with Helen, hoping to pick up a new ibrik and speak some Arabic, when I saw him standing there. (Helen noticed him first, actually.) He was talking to the store’s owner, who is a very kind, religious man. (He told me about a CAIR event in Cleveland next weekend.) His wife, Elizabeth, wandered around the store looking at stuff.

I didn’t talk to him, because I don’t really have anything to say. But I do think it’s sort of cool that Kucinich spends his Saturday afternoon visiting people in his district, particularly cool that he engages with the city’s Muslim community enough to go to a store that sells mostly religious artifacts and doesn’t even have a sign in English. Way to go Dennis.

1 Comment

Filed under American Politics

One response to “My brush with minor celebrity and his tall wife

  1. Jeanie Rutherfird

    I trust them both completely. They both have the highest integrity and are eager to reach out to all those who initiate and support peaceful solutions. We are so lucky to have them in our midst!

Leave a Reply

