Absence, God

I apologize for my absence from the blog.  My computer has some troubles.  But moreover, I am working hard at being a college student.  Don’t be surprised when you start to see posts here that are obviously from my classes.  It will be hard to restrain myself while I do a private reading about the making of the modern Middle East.

This quote, however, actually came up in my Itineraries of Postmodernism class. (What the hell does that mean, anyway?)  

 For fanaticism is the only ‘strength of the will’ that even the weak and insecure can be brought to attain, being a sort of hypnotism of the whole system of the senses and the intellect for the benefit of an excessive nourishment of a single point of view and feeling that henceforth becomes dominant—which the Christian calls his faith.

 –Friedrich Nietzsche, The Gay Science.

Take the Huck!  Put that in your argeeleh and smoke it, Osama bin Laden!  I usually don’t really like it when people use a lot of words to disparage religion (Mr. Hitchens, for example) but Nietzsche does it so well.  I enjoyed reading his book more than I expected to you.  But I’ll spare the blogosphere my thoughts on politics and postmodernism.  I’ll try.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Absence, God

  1. buddhabelly30

    I enjoyed the quote. I’m a Nietzsche fan too, though I also enjoy Hitchens’ style. His Britishisms make his scathing criticisms pleasant.

    When I read “Itineraries of Postmodernism” my reaction was “what the fuck?” There really is such a course? I’m baffled, despite my philosophy major.

  2. levi

    computer problems? i know an apple rep that can help you out.

  3. joan

    If you and other blog readers have not yet read “How to Cure a Fanatic” by Amos Oz, I highly recommend it. It’s small enough to fit in your back jeans pocket comfortably. A great quick read.

  4. Andrew

    Ahhh, politics and perversion. They are so close its almost sick sometimes. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

